From Our Archive
This story was published before Summer 2021, when we launched our new digital experience.

What to Expect If You're Returning to the U.S. From a Country With Travel Restrictions

American's coming home from select countries will have to pass through one of 13 approved airports before continuing to their final destination.


Objets d’Art for an Elevated Table


Objets d’Art for an Elevated Table

A curated collection of five-star linens, glassware, and beautiful embellishments.

A Year in Kitchen Gear

Editors’ Picks

A Year in Kitchen Gear

The kitchen essentials you couldn’t get enough of in 2023.

What We’re Wearing to Travel in Style This Fall

Editors’ Picks

What We’re Wearing to Travel in Style This Fall

Suits, jackets, hikers, and insulation for the great outdoors. Plus, a home chef’s...

This story originally appeared on

The Department of Homeland Security (DHS) has issued new enhanced screening for international arrivals at airports around the country following the Trump administration's implemented travel restrictions.

American's coming home from Europe’s Schengen Zone, China, and Iran will have to pass through one of 13 approved airports before continuing to their final destination.

In details released by the DHS, travelers will have to pass through the typical customs process upon arrival at airports including Boston-Logan, Chicago O’Hare, Dallas/Fort Worth, Detroit Metropolitan, Honolulu’s Daniel K. Inouye, Hartsfield-Jackson Atlanta, New York’s John F. Kennedy and Newark Liberty, Los Angeles, Miami, San Francisco, Seattle-Tacoma and Washington-Dulles.

Then, in an enhanced health screening, medical professionals and members of the Customs and Border Patrol (CBP) will ask travelers for their medical history and assess their current condition. They will also collect contact information for local health authorities. If they are deemed healthy, they will receive written information about COVID-19 before they are allowed to proceed to their final destination. Upon arrival, they will be required to self-quarantine for 14 days.

“To minimize disruptions to travelers, TSA, CBP, and air carriers are working to identify qualifying passengers before their scheduled flights,” DHS Acting Secretary Chad F. Wolf said. “I understand this new process will be disruptive to some travelers, however this action is needed to protect the general public from further exposure and spread of the coronavirus. Once back in the U.S. it is imperative that individuals honor self-quarantine directives to help protect their loved-ones and communities.”

Since the restrictions have been implemented, photos and news of hectic scenes at the airport have been surfacing.

The travel ban enacted last week allows Americans who were abroad to return home, however it bars select foreign nationals from entering the country. Green-card holders, family members and other authorized travelers will also be permitted to pass through the enhanced security.


Let’s Keep in Touch

Subscribe to our newsletter

You’re no longer on our newsletter list, but you can resubscribe anytime.